We in social networks


Events Calendar


Decision on Iran's Entry to SCO to Be Made After UN Sanctions Lifted

07.07.2015 17:22

The SCO is a political, military and economic alliance that includes Russia, China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan.

Mongolia, Iran, India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan have observer status in the organization. In September 2014, Pakistan and India formally applied to join the alliance.

"Iran has also submitted an application. It is being considered, but the decision has been taken to return to it after the UN Security Council's sanctions against Iran are lifted following the successful ending of the talks on Iranian nuclear program, and then, in our opinion, all the opportunities will be open for Iran to actively join our cooperation as well," Ushakov said in an interview.

The presidential aide added that after the sanctions against Iran are lifted, the SCO member states will start consultations and define the frameworks for Iran's admission to the organization.